Prudence Reigns

A month of vegetarianism has gone by & I’m still on a roll.  So much so that I’ve decided to stay veggie for another month.  Whether it’s been the lack of paid work that has given me time to explore and expand my repertoire of recipes or whether it’s the money we saved or whether it’s the influence of a veggie friend or the authors that I have stumbled upon on my meat free quest (Jack Monroe, Rose Elliott for example) I’m not sure but I’m happy to carry on.  Not sure whether my partner is that keen but hey, he can always throw a steak on the grill himself.  The only thing I’m missing is smoked salmon (eat cake) & anchovies.  

I’m also on a budget mission, trying to save as much money as I can from our food account to put into our holiday account – the less we spend here, the more cocktails & delicious food we can eat there.  Fortunately Jack Monroe’s cooking on a bootstrap blog and the Guardian have come up trumps.  Yesterday I baked a fennel & lemon pasta bake using GIANT penne from Lidl, who are having an Italian session (& if you want an interesting non alcoholic drink buy their aperol type drink in little bottle.  Absolutely wonderful with tonic & a slice of orange) & Roast red cabbage with spiced yoghurt.  Both lovely but the latter divine – I’m hooked as I was beginning to glare at the red cabbage that was lingering in my veg box and had come back with me from Cornwall weeks ago.  Today it’s mushroom rogan josh and aubergine vindaloo. Spicyyyyyyyyy

Mood:  Reflective & stronger

  

Leave a comment